Damyang Bamboo Festival

As I mentioned in my last post, Koreans LOVE festivals!  There were at least 3 going on this past weekend in my province.  I’m sure there were many more, but these are the only ones I know of as of yet.  Paul and I decided to venture to the big city this weekend and met up with my co-teacher and his girlfriend, and it *just so happened*(note the sarcasm as there is always one going on) there was a festival going on!  Once we arrived we headed out of the city to a neighboring town to go to a bamboo festival- yes festivals even dedicated to bamboo!  First we stopped for a delicious lunch of Korean BBQ- we seriously cannot get enough of this stuff!  It’s so delicious, and I would have no problem eating this everyday!  (I even eat kimchi with it….sometimes) This is a picture of our delicious lunch so you can all drool over it now!

Image

After we stuffed ourselves with delicious food we headed to the bamboo park!  Basically its just a bunch of trails through a bamboo forrest.  It was actually pretty cool to see so much bamboo and see such big bamboo.  Here are a few pics

Image

We even found a cool waterfall in the middle of the park.

On our way out we got to see cute little kids fishing in the river. What does this have to do with bamboo you ask- why they were fishing with bamboo baskets of course!


It was a great weekend filled with Korean adventures! This weekend we are going to Wando! It’s a small island just southeast of our town. A bunch of foreigners from all over the province are meeting there to camp and hang out for the weekend! It should be a blast, and I can’t wait to meet up with our friends from orientation! Don’t worry I’ll be sure to take my camera so you can see evidence that I am actually camping- that’s right I bought a tent. Here goes nothing…