A Very Tolkien-esque Vacation

Those of y’all who know me know that I am a planner…I just love it.  Making lists, and filling datebooks, writing goals and crossing them off- it gets me giddy every time!  When it comes to vacations I’m the same way.  I’ve tried that whole “let’s see where the wind takes us” thing and its not my cup of tea..it just stresses me out.  And to those of you out there who can let the wind take you where it may, I applaud you and have slight jealousy towards you- it seems so much more of an adventurous, Tolkien way of approaching life, but I just can’t handle it.

When it came to our summer vacation to Hawaii, my attitude was no different, much to the dismay of my brother who just doesn’t understand my need to have everything all tied up in a pretty package…he one of those Tolkien vacationers I’m so jealous of- I mean he even enjoys camping, my jealousy overflows, but thats beside the point.  The point is that I love to plan and this vacation was no different.  I planned a little, but my mom and dad also love to plan so I kinda left a lot up to them as well…especially my mom.  I was also trying once again to have that Tolkien attitude.  The extent of my planning was sending an email to my family of all the things that looked cool (note this list would’ve taken weeks to complete had we done it all- Hawaii is awesome!)  Plus, I also just wanted to hang out with my family and enjoy our time together since its my only time to see them for a year!

Well our vacation didn’t go as planned (bet you didn’t see that one coming…). We got stuck on a city but for  2 hours (what could’ve been a 45 minute car ride), my mom and I got off the bus 2 miles early, expired transfer passes, Paul got sick, we didn’t get to hike Diamond Head, didn’t get to ride bikes, and I never found the Shinerboch I had been searching for.  All that being said, it was a fabulous vacation.  I got to see my family and be with them for a whole week!  I got to eat American food and speak in English without simultaneously doing charades. I got to sit on the beach. I got to go SCUBA diving. I saw a sea turtle, I saw a eagle spotted ray. I got to revel in the beautiful landscape that my Creator made purely for enjoyment. I got to relax.

Despite so much going unplanned, I learned that its not always about the destination, but the journey. Cheesy I know, and I’m sure some great author has already stated that more eloquently that I ever could, but its true.  Even though I’m a planner and will always be that way, I can still learn to enjoy the hiccups.  It doesn’t mean I’ll stop planning by any means, but it does mean that I will make a more conscious effort to not fight the wind blowing where it may.  I’ll always be a planner, and it won’t be easy to remain relaxed when things don’t follow the plan, but just because its uncomfortable doesn’t mean its not good for me.  This year of my life is all about getting out of my comfort zone. This life was never meant to be easy and nothing worthwhile is easy, but that doesn’t mean that the difficulties have to be accompanied by a sour disposition.  Living a life planned, does not guarantee a life going according to a plan, but its important to remain positive and in my case, immediately start planning a new plan according to the latest hiccup.

